Live Earth CD and DVD to be Released

A few days ago I heard about an interesting CD/DVD release. The performances from the Live Earth concerts have been compiled and either are or will be released both digitally and in a double DVD/CD package.

The event, which took place back on 7-7-07 and consisted of a number of different concerts from a large number of artists was designed to help raise awareness about climate change and environmental issues. I watched almost all of the event and can say that there were definitely some performances worth checking out. I also reviewed the entire event for the Soul of Rock 'n' Roll and you can read that post here:

This DVD/CD release also sounds pretty interesting to check out if you missed some of the performances or just want to check out one of the more interesting live music events. Here's the track lists according to my sources:

First there is the CD album:
1. Madonna "Hey You"
2. Foo Fighters "Times Like These"
3. The Police "Driven To Tears"
4. John Mayer "Gravity"
5. Roger Waters "Another Brick In The Wall Part II"
6. Linkin Park "Bleed It Out"
7. Keane "Bedshaped"
8. Bon Jovi "Wanted Dead Or Alive"
9. James Blunt "Wisemen"
10. Chris Cornell "Black Hole Sun"
11. Lenny Kravitz "Are You Gonna Go My Way"
12. Beastie Boys "Intergalactic"
13. KT Tunstall "Suddenly I See"
14. Corinne Bailey Rae & John Legend "Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology)"
15. Damien Rice & David Gray "Que Sera, Sera"

And then the 3 Disk DVDs:

DVD 1:
1. SOS Allstars "Live Earth: London Opening"
2. Genesis "Invisible Touch"
3. Snow Patrol "Shut Your Eyes"
4. Damien Rice & David Gray "Que Sera, Sera"
5. KT Tunstall "Suddenly I See"
6. Taking Back Sunday "My Blue Heaven"
7. Paolo Nutini "What A Wonderful World"
8. Black Eyed Peas "Where Is The Love"
9. Duran Duran "Planet Earth"
10. AFI "Miss Murder"
11. John Mayer "Gravity"
12. Corinne Bailey Rae & John Legend "Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology)"
13. Keane "Bedshaped"
14. Metallica "Sad But True"
15. Melissa Etheridge "I Need To Wake Up"
16. Dave Matthews Band "Too Much"
17. Kelly Clarkson "Sober"
18. Angelique Kidjo "Tumba"
19. Joss Stone "Right To Be Wrong"
20. James Blunt "Wisemen"
21. Beastie Boys "Intergalactic"

DVD 2:
22. Keith Urban & Alicia Keys "Gimme Shelter"
23. Enrique Iglesias "Bailamos"
24. Missy Higgins "Steer"
25. Wolfmother "Woman"
26. Chris Cornell "Black Hole Sun"
27. Bon Jovi "Wanted Dead Or Alive"
28. Lenny Kravitz "Are You Gonna Go My Way"
29. Smashing Pumpkins "United States"
30. Roger Waters "Another Brick In The Wall Part II"
31. The Police "Driven To Tears"
32. Crowded House "Better Be Home Soon"
33. Rihanna "Umbrella"
34. Linkin Park "Bleed It Out"
35. Foo Fighters "Times Like These"
36. Madonna feat. Gogol Bordello "La Isla Bonita"

I'm not sure if the DVDs and CDs are bundled together, but first glances indicate that they probably are not, which is too bad. There is also a digital release that is the same track listing of the CD, but as a bonus, you get the live recording of John Mayer's "Waiting on the World to Change" (only if you pre-order via itunes?).

My thoughts on this release are pretty positive as there looks like some neat performances, but at the same time I'm a little disappointed.

I'm glad they're also releasing just the audio as that was one of the things I wish was available from both the Crossroads events, Live Aid etc (it might be for Live Aid). Don't get me wrong, I can pull some technical strings and end up with just an audio track list that I can listen to, but to have it released on it's own is a good thing in my mind.

I'm also glad to see that some of the standout performances made the DVD cut. Keith Urban and Alica Keys doing "Gimmie Shelter", stellar... the return of the Smashing Pumpkins, also great to have... Roger Waters... always incredible. Still, I am a little disappointed. I would have liked to have seen something from everyone who performed, as always, but I know that probably wasn't feasible what with this being a 24 hour, world wide event. I really would have liked to see the performances of the the Red Hot Chili Peppers and Spinal Tap included though. Also, the order seems odd to me as I wouldn't have chosen to end with Madonna, but more a matter of personal preference I guess. Maybe these track lists aren't completely accurate?

Along those sames lines of disappointment...

I have not been able to find any information about where the profits of this album are going. I seriously hope that all 100% of the profits are going to environmental causes. That would really show their commitment to environmentalism, something that was already brought into question with this event for other reasons when it happened. I can't confirm or deny that that is the case though, but here's hopin'.

Overall though, this does seem like an interesting concert release to pick up to commemorate the event.

There's also some interesting news about when this DVD set will be released. If you check out the Live Earth DVD site, it slates the digital release for August 14, 2007, but it also says that it's still in pre-order so I have no idea if it's been released or not. That same site also says that the DVD and CD packages with be available in stores September 25, 2007. My sources say that instead it will be released November 20, 2007, so I guess it's been delayed more than a little as it's not even available for pre-order through Amazon yet.

Either way, keep an eye out for it. You can check out the Live Earth DVD site here:

And well you're at it, if you haven't already, it's worth checking out their home page as well to help support environmental causes:


- The Soul of Rock 'n' Roll is a division of Fifth Column Media - -